Upcoming Releases – Spring 2016

We’re already 2 months into 2016. That means the weather will finally start getting warmer here in Vermont, aside from the occasional March snowstorm. It also means a whole bunch of new music as the release schedule picks up, and this spring is no exception. March 4th is particularly stacked with new albums from the indie/alternative sphere, and lots of other great artists will be releasing albums later in the spring including The Thermals, Bibio, Yeasayer, Frightened Rabbit and two new albums from Islands. Here’s what you have to look forward to this spring:


March 4

Dead Stars – Bright Colors (Weird Tree)

Jennifer O’Connor – Surface Noise (Kiam)

Kitten – Heaven or Somewhere in Between (Scary Kids)

La Sera – Music For Listening to Music To (Polyvinyl)

Miike Snow – III (Downtown/Atlantic)

Nada Surf – You Know Who You Are (Barsuk)

Poliça – United Crushers (Mom + Pop)

Prince Rama – Xtreme Now (Carpark)

Rob Crow’s Gloomy Place – You’re Doomed. Be Nice. (Temporary Residence Ltd.)

Sego – Once Was Lost Now Just Hanging Around (Dine Alone)

Thao & the Get Down Stay Down – A Man Alive (Ribbon)

Wintersleep – The Great Detachment (Dine Alone)


March 11

Bent Shapes – Wolves of Want (Slumberland)

Brian Fallon – Painkillers (Island)

Lucius – Good Grief (Mom + Pop)

Into It. Over It. – Standards (Triple Crown)

The Wild Feathers – Lonely is a Lifetime (Warner Bros.)


March 18

Cullen Omori – New Misery (Sub Pop)

Damien Jurado – Visions of Us on the Land (Secretly Canadian)

Dustin Kensrue – Thoughts That Float on a Different Boat (Vagrant)

Lust For Youth – Compassion (Sacred Bones)


March 25

Bob Mould – Patch the Sky (Merge)

RJD2 – Dame Fortune (RJ’s Electrical Connections)

The Joy Formidable – Hitch (Canvasback/Atlantic)

The Range – Potential (Domino)

The Thermals – We Disappear (Saddle Creek)

White Denim – Stiff (Downtown)


April 1

Andrew Bird – Are You Serious (EMI)

Com Truise – Silicon Tare (Ghostly International)

Bibio – A Mineral Love (Warp)

Moderat – III (Mute/Monkeytown)

Mogwai – Atomic (Rock Action)

Weezer – Weezer (White Album) (Crush Music)

Yeasayer – Amen & Goodbye (Mute)


April 8

Deftones – Gore (Reprise)

Frightened Rabbit – Painting of a Panic Attack (Canvasback/Atlantic)

Woods – City Sun Eater in the River of Light (Woodsist)


April 15

Bear Hands – You’ll Pay For This (Spensive Sounds)

Edward Sharpe & The Magnetic Zeroes – PersonA (Community Music)

Sam Beam & Jesca Hoop – Love Letter For Fire (Sub Pop)


April 22


April 29

Holy Ghost! – Crime Cutz EP (DFA)

Pity Sex – White Hot Moon (Run For Cover)

Rogue Wave – Delusions of Grand Fur (Easy Sound)


May 6

Aloha – Little Windows Cut Right Through (Polyvinyl)

White Lung – Paradise (Domino)


May 13

Islands – Taste and Should I Remain Here at Sea? (PledgeMusic)

Nothing – Tired of Tomorrow (Relapse)

Oscar – Cut and Paste (Wichita)

The So So Glos – Kamikaze (Votiv)


May 20

Marissa Nadler – Strangers (Sacred Bones)


May 27

Gold Panda – Good Luck and Do Your Best (City Slang)


Listen to songs from each of these albums below:

*I will be updating this list as more albums are announced.


Weekend Soundcloud Picks: 2/7/16

Every Friday, I listen to the new tracks posted to my Soundcloud stream. I’ll pick out 4-8 of my favorites and share them with you so you have some new tunes to enjoy over the weekend. Take a listen and let me know which ones you like best and I will play them on Wednesday’s show!

Great Pagans “Call of the Void”

One of my clear favorites this week. Dreamy and psychedelic, you’ll definitely be hearing this on Squawkin’ Good Radio. Single will be released March 11th on the label Anti-Ghost Moon Ray.

The Attics “Not Like”

Cool vibe on this one from Aussie rockers The Attics.

WRAY “Hypatia”

Shoegaze band WRAY is back – you may have heard them on Flight of the Squawkatiel in 2014. “Hypatia” is the first single off their sophomore album of the same name, released in January on Communicating Vessels.

Bent Shapes “New Starts in Old Dominion”

The latest from Slumberland Records is Boston band Bent Shapes. Great jangly indie rock taken from their forthcoming album Wolves of Want, out in March.

Low Cut High Tops “Let’s Runaway”

Simple, but catchy.

The Range “Florida”

A good example of the kind of electronic music I’ll be spinning on Squawkin’ Good Radio. Taken from the album Potential, out March 25th on Domino.

Yahtzel & Bengal “Bent”

Good electronic groove. Currently a free download as well!

Fuck Art, Let’s Dance! “The Conqueror”

This is an older song from 2011 but it popped up in my Soundcloud stream and I quite enjoyed it. Don’t be fooled by the ridiculous band name, this a great song that mixes a Minus The Bear/Dismemberment Plan sound with synth/dance rock.

Listen to the full playlist below, and be sure to follow Squawkin’ Good Tunes on Soundcloud for more of my favorite discoveries!